3 Extra Perks of Breastfeeding

These answers exclude all of the obvious perks to breastfeeding like health benefits.
1. Middle of the night convenience. I didn’t have to get up and warm the water to make the bottle or try to sleepily gather his bottles together without making a mess or doing it wrong. The simplicity of waking and pulling out my boob was probably my favorite perk of breastfeeding. I have always been one who loved extra sleep so not having to spend more time preparing his bottles in the middle of the night was amazing!
2. Less cleanup. As long as I was with Aidan and fed him straight from me, I had less bottles to clean. Who doesn’t love less dishes? Now that Aidan is older and is drinking whole milk I have so much more to clean in terms of bottles whether he’s drinking it or I’m packing it up for his time with Mimi or Grandma. I miss the days when I didn’t have 3-5 bottles to wash a day.
3. Less to pack when we go out. While other mothers had to pack bottles with premeasured water and premeasured formula for the duration they planned to go out. With breastfeeding I had to take a few diapers, maybe a change of clothes, a blanket and Aidan. It was easy to gather it all when we needed to quickly get out the door or were going somewhere carrying around a large diaper bag was not an option.
Like most, I was more attempting breastfeeding for the health benefits to Aidan and the bond it created between us, but I can’t deny each of these points made breastfeeding that much better for me.
Did you breastfeed or formula feed? What were the extra perks for you?
-A.Brooke

Leave a Reply

