It’s A…

wp-1451141294641.jpg

Now that we’ve announced to all our family members I feel as if I can share with anyone and everyone. We are having a BOY! And before you ask, although we have our ideas, no we haven’t decided on his name. I probably won’t share until I’m 100% certain, because knowing myself, I’m likely to change my mind at least 50 times. Now that we know he is going to be a he that cuts out half of the choices and does make it easier to prepare for him, in my opinion.

Announcing his gender to my family was a fun task. I scanned our ultrasound photos into my computer and made copies of each one and put them in an envelope and had only one envelope with the It’s A BOY! picture in it. Since Alex and I did have around 4 different family events between the both of us I did have to make several envelopes and I could have been more creative, but I enjoyed watching our families starring at the pictures trying to figure out exactly which photo they’d gotten and the different reactions from each different group and each different person that received the chance to announce it to everyone.

With Alex’s family’s small gathering, his parents neighbor, who’s basically become family, jokingly asked for $50 and he would share. At my moms almost everyone gathered in close and I didn’t quite get to explain the game with everyone being so impatient. The envelopes were passed out and several tried to make guesses off the pictures themselves but, my Uncle, who wasn’t even planning on opening the envelope nonchalantly said, “it’s a boy” after a couple minutes of everyone looking around and starring at me, wondering. With my moms big family, the noise, and me slightly feeling claustrophobic the reveal didn’t quite turn out as planned, but my family was still happy in the end.

The best reveal for me was with my dad. This is the only place I’d made sure a specific person received the picture announcing our son and, of course, that was to my dad.

Between my step brother and half adopted sister I have three nieces and my dad was hoping for a boy. Also, I’m his baby, having a baby so it added to the stirring emotions in the room. I explained what the game was and that only one person would get the right picture and handed everyone an envelope and most impatiently ripped open the envelopes. Realizing none of them had the picture they began looking around to spot my dad crying. My Aunt of course is like, “WHAT IS IT?” and by his inability to answer and the fact that he was crying, she gathered the answer was boy and everyone started half screaming, some crying and some hugging. I think that was the best reveal I could have hoped for. I enjoyed every moment and I’m sure I’ll do something similar with our next child.

Now that we’ve found out what we’re having comes the real fun parts, the baby shower, gathering everything he needs, washing everything and setting it all up. I can’t say I’m not nervous and that there is no fear in me because there is, but I’m also excited. Excited to be a mom, excited to share this experience with the man I love and excited to start our family.

Life only gets better from here.

I love you little one, and I already can’t wait to meet you.

Dec. 26th, 2015 4pm

-A.Brooke💋

Leave a Reply

